Reactivate a temporarily disabled account
This is the simplest solution. To reactivate an account temporarily deactivated by you, simply access it, entering your login and password data, as you always did.
If you try to recover the account shortly after deactivation, you may not be able to undo the process. In this case, you must wait until the social network authorizes the procedure. The waiting period can take a few hours.
If you believe there has been a misunderstanding and your profile has been unfairly disabled, you can try to appeal. For this, go to the page of ransom request and give the information requested by the social network.
You must inform whether the profile is business or personal, full name, username, email address and country. If it is a commercial account, it must also include a copy of any document that proves the company’s existence. confirm in To send.
If everything goes well, you will receive an email from Facebook, the company that owns Instagram. If it was a mistake, a link will be sent to reactivate the account.
In some cases, a code is sent, which must be handwritten on a blank sheet of paper, with your full name and username. You will need to take a picture of yourself holding this paper and attach it to your reply email.
- That they are not their own or that they are not authorized to publish;
- Nude photos and videos. Breastfeeding women, mastectomy scars and nudity in paintings and sculptures are allowed;
- Sale of illicit products through the social network;
- Containing explicit and extreme violence.
It is worth noting that if you do not receive the deactivation message when trying to access the account, it is likely that you have entered the wrong login data.
Reactivate deleted account
If by chance, you deleted your Instagram account and regretted it, this is not the best news. Unlike deactivation, deleting completely erases all content related to your account.
This includes published photos and videos and direct messages. It is also not possible to retrieve the followers, comments, or accounts that you follow. Before deleting, the social network suggests that users download their data. So, if you regret it, you will have a backup.
If you want to download, open the app and tap on your profile photo or picture of a doll, in the lower right corner of the screen. Then go to the three-line icon at the top of the screen → Settings → Security → Download Data.
Enter the email address and tap request download. Instagram promises that data will be collected and sent to the indicated email address within 48 hours. But you might be surprised and get paid well before that.
Disable or delete your Instagram account?
It is common for people to be in doubt about the two processes. After all, what’s the difference between them in practice?
- Delete: is an irreversible action. Your profile will no longer be found by anyone and all data relating to it will be erased.
- disable: is a reversible action, useful for those who want to take a break from the social network. Your profile goes down and can no longer be found by anyone, even if they are your followers. When reactivating the account, no information will be lost, as if you had never deactivated your profile.
How long can the account be disabled?
Theoretically, there is no time limit for keeping the account disabled. But when searching the internet, you will possibly find reports of people who turned it off and then failed to access the profile.
In these cases, it is likely that these users have made a mistake when entering their login data, after a long time without using them. If you can’t remember, our guide on how to recover Instagram passwords from mobile and PC shows the whole step-by-step.
How many times can I deactivate my account?
You are only allowed to deactivate your Instagram account once a week.